Tropical Fish Fanatics
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Friendly Forum For All Tropical Fishkeeping and Aquarium Chat

HomeWELCOME TO TROPGallerySearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Green tank

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage

Green tank Empty
PostSubject: Green tank   Green tank Icon_minitimeSun May 11, 2008 4:42 am

Hiya everyone, nice forum and I am a bit of a newbie so would like some help. We got a small tank about 5 months ago now and have had nothing but trouble with it since. I just cant keep the tank clean. Its about 30litres and is just covered with algae and the water is green tinged all the time. The algea is on everything, so I was told to get a catfish and I also have a cherry barb I have a barb, and two guppies and that is all so I know I am not overloading the tank. It has an in lid filter with sort of cartridges in it which I change about once a month when it gets really dirty, change the water every fortnight and give the tank a good clean - ornaments and gravel about once a month too. It stays clean looking for about a week and then the water starts to go green again.

Please help me get this sorted.
Back to top Go down
kbekl
Frequent User
Frequent User
kbekl

Number of posts : 770
Registration date : 2007-12-14

Green tank Empty
PostSubject: Re: Green tank   Green tank Icon_minitimeSun May 11, 2008 8:50 am

does it sit in front of direct sunlight ?
Back to top Go down
Diana
Administrator
Administrator
Diana

Number of posts : 6033
Registration date : 2007-12-12

Green tank Empty
PostSubject: Re: Green tank   Green tank Icon_minitimeSun May 11, 2008 10:37 pm

bloggy wrote: